How Do You Know?

How do you know
If somethings meant to be?
He’s the only person I’m happy with
But the only one who’s ever really hurt me.

He listens to me complain
And remembers my random rants.
But he can never seem to keep in mind
All the times that we make plans.

He knows more of me
Than I can recognize myself.
But he doesn’t always let me see
His true self.

He has lied to my face.
But has been more honest than others.
He can make me feel like I’m in the right place,
But I usually feel like a bother.

Sports and friends
seem to always come first
Even when I would drop my world
To spend time with him.

We’ve argued, we’ve fought
We’ve yelled, and we’ve cursed.
But we’ve loved, and we’ve cared
More than most.

So how do you know
If something is right?
Do you analyze the dark times
Or believe in the moments of light?

4 thoughts on “How Do You Know?

  1. Wow, this is really well done. Love the way you explained this- I understand this feeling and I absolutely love how you dropped those last two lines-that’s what it comes down to, in a sense right. Really brilliant-love this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

