Victimized

You filled my heart with confusion
and set my mind into dissolution.
Was our past only an allusion?
or was it my mistake, was I an intrusion?

Did I encroach on precious territory?
Am I no longer a piece of your story?
Or is your life now so full of glory
That I’m simply a character of your back story?

There’s nothing wrong with moving on.
I only wish you’d have brought me along.
I’ll never know if I did something wrong
or if you were just killing time until you’d be gone.

Ridding yourself of this place
To go and search for some new face.
You did it, you escaped your past,
by running far and running fast.

You placed your dreams on a shelf
And decided to surrender yourself
to the wills and wishes of all those strangers
Only to succumb to a world full of dangers.

Now you’re stuck
and have run out of luck.
Everything you had set in your vision
is all gone because of your decision.

If you would have seen
That your grass was always green,
maybe you never would have left
and ended up a victim of theft.

 

Photo Credit: http://www.ipwatchdog.com/2011/09/03/internet-copyright-theft-content-creators-must-stay-vigilant/id=18966/

44 thoughts on “Victimized

  1. The problem with fist
    Is that it can’t hold new things
    At some point
    After some time
    We need to open it
    We need to lose
    We held for so long
    And be ready with
    a hand that knows what moving on is
    And knows now it is no more a fist
    And now it could hold something better. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I thought the image was fitting. And we do, we’re blind to what we have, so we fight for something different, but we end up losing ourselves in the process. Different isn’t always better.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha yeah, I was never a poetry writer. I just started at the beginning of this year. It wasn’t anything that I ever necessarily wanted to do or ever thought about. I just wrote one and liked the process and kept writing.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

