Comfort – The Thing In My Room, Poetry Challenge

image

I trace my hands over the thick fabric.
Soft-
Sweet-
Luring me to sleep.

I feel the fibers between my fingers
comforting me with their embrace.

As I cover myself up
my eyes slowly shut.

I drift into my dreams.

I’m awoken by the images
invading my mind.
And I push comfort away
then shove it to the side.

I force myself to sleep once more.

Battling the night
-rest is a chore.

Morning arrives, it always does-
As the sun pours through my window.

I grab my blanket
and pull it back over me,
to protect myself
from the eyes of the world.

***
Not my best, but hey, I’m trying something different.
I have decided to take prompts from my textbook for my upcoming poetry class and post my responses to them on here. And now, I am challenging you to do this as well!
This prompt was “something in your room.”
If you participate, pingback or comment a link below! πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Comfort – The Thing In My Room, Poetry Challenge

Leave a Reply

