Hardened Heart

image

During the storm,
the winds grew colder
as my heart grew numb
and heavy like a boulder.

I had always
worn it on my sleeve,
too afraid of what would happen
if I were to leave-
Leave it behind
for anyone to take,
leave it to someone
for them to break.

But as it hardened
and heavied itself,
I had to find a way
to steady it myself.

I could no longer bear
the weight inside
no matter
how much I tried.

I decided to take it
where it would never be found.
But my heavy heart
was now dragging the ground.

So I hauled it up
to the highest hill
where it would no longer
be able to feel.

21 thoughts on “Hardened Heart

Leave a Reply

