The Pen

image

I was just a girl
observing the world
when a passion inside
began to unfurl.

My heart kept
sighing-
speaking-
screaming
at my mind.

But it wouldn’t take the time
to listen
or think
about what ravaged through me.

My soul felt numb.
In need-
In need of something.
Something to light the fuse.
Something to light the fire.
Something to warm the coals
of my soul which had grown cold.

As this plight caught my throat,
I choked on the thought.
If I spoke the words
I wished to say,
pay-
I surely would.

So as I gasped for air
behind this notion of thought,
I grasped for the pen
and sat down to write.

Photo credit: http://blog.prepscholar.com/how-are-ap-exams-scored

37 thoughts on “The Pen

      1. Oh. But yes. Sometimes it works. You put each of your negative feelings in each word. When you post that online, along with the data packets, the negative feelings also leave your device. So as you said, a well working therapy. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Oh my dear! So much truth rings in your words and shoot straight to my heart! This is exactly how I feel when the need to write the words that are often caged in my mind and swelling through until they must be allowed to escape and shared with others. Im in love with your flow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

