The Undefeated Villain

image

It has always been there
and always will be.
Harboring your thoughts,
fostering your emotions,
compelling your actions.
It follows you around
like a shadow on your back.
Sometimes, it seems to simply lurk,
making no sound at all.
But it won’t stay silent for long.
When it finally decides to be heard,
you know just what its voice can do.
It can slink down your spine
and seep into your soul.
Causing your core
to grow cold and clammy.
Nauseating you.
Sickening you.
Disgusting you.
You can try to convince yourself
that its clutch is only temporary,
that you can somehow break free
of the shackles it confines you in.
But soon you will realize
that you are just a prisoner
of your own war.
That the only villain in your midst
is the one defeated
only by destroying yourself.
Some battle the enemy in their minds,
others succumb to its desires.
But the beast will remain untamed,
the villain, undefeated.
For no one has power over themselves.

Photo Credit: http://www.gfi.com/blog/how-to-avoid-becoming-the-villain/

41 thoughts on “The Undefeated Villain

          1. Me too. I just looked at your blog and you have so many! I have several about my fiancΓ© and things that have happened between us, but most of mine are about my thoughts and confusion and about society, lol.

            Liked by 2 people

          2. I just started writing poems 1-2 months ago too. I actually started this blog with other intentions and poetry just kind of came about and I love it.
            I completely agree with that about society. It has a lot of problems.
            And most about what I’m doing with my life. If you read my home page it explains a lot. But there’s also personal things that I just sit and think about and end up thinking myself into a mess.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

